Declaration of Dependence

free

July 4th in the USA is a day commemorating the our independence from oppressive rule by England. It is a day to celebrate the freedoms we enjoy in this country. As Christians we should celebrate freedom every day. The freedom we have from the punishment of sin and the freedom we have from sin itself.

But unlike our national freedom that came because of independence, our spiritual freedom is enjoyed because dependence on God. True freedom from the power of sin is possible if and only if we rely on the strength of Jesus that He provides to those who accept Him as Savior and Lord.

John 15:5 … I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

There is no denying God’s message that ONLY through Christ can we have eternal life.

2 Corinthians 1:8-9 … For we do not want you to be ignorant, brothers, of the affliction we experienced in Asia. For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead.

John 6:55-59 … For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like the bread the fathers ate and died. Whoever feeds on this bread will live forever.”

But it is also through Christ that we can have freedom from sin (the flesh) by allowing Him to change us from the inside.

Galatians 2:20 … I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

While the world tries to minimize God if not completely eliminate the need for Him, the Bible says, we must seek Him in all we do. For it is in His power that we can be free. He takes the weakest among us and does extraordinary things those who acknowledge that they can do nothing without the Lord.

Philippians 4:13 … I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 … “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

