Hosea means salvation; and the prophet who wrote this book brought the message that God would save those who repent and turn to Him.  This message was exemplified through Hosea’s wife and children.

God commanded Hosea to marry Gomer, a harlot.  HOSEA 1:2 … “Go, take to yourself a wife of harlotry and have children of harlotry; for the land commits flagrant harlotry, forsaking the Lord.”

With Gomer, Hosea had 3 children.  A son, HOSEA 1:4-5 … “Name him Jezreel; for yet a little while, and I will punish the house of Jehu for the bloodshed of Jezreel, and I will put an end to the kingdom of the house of Israel.  On that day I will break the bow of Israel in the valley of Jezreel.”

A daughter, HOSEA 1:6-7 … “Name her Lo-ruhamah, for I will no longer have compassion on the house of Israel, that I would ever forgive them.  But I will have compassion on the house of Judah and deliver them by the Lord their God, and will not deliver them by bow, sword, battle, horses or horsemen.”

And a son, HOSEA 1:9 … “Name him Lo-ammi, for you are not My people and I am not your God.”

The message that was sent not only through Hosea’s words, but also through his life was, repent and the Lord will redeem.  God is just and will judge sin, but He will always allow His people to return to Him.  Hosea 6:1 … “Come, let us return to the LORD. He has torn us to pieces but he will heal us; he has injured us but he will bind up our wounds.  All He asks for is our love.   Hosea 6:6 … For I desire mercy, not sacrifice, and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings.  Despite our selfishness, and putting other “gods” before Him, God loves us.  Hosea 11:1 … “When Israel was a child, I loved him, and out of Egypt I called my son.”

So we should take this message of undeserved forgiveness and reflect it in our lives.  Forgive those who trespass against us.  We should also exult in the truth that if we have turned to God, through the Lord Jesus Christ, we have been forgiven of every sin we have ever and will ever commit.

 

If you have never accepted Jesus as Savior and would like to know you will spend eternity in heaven, please click HERE!

