The Lord is my Shepherd

Originally posted December 15, 2014

We have all probably heard Psalm 23 at one time or another in our lives.  It has become a regular part of many funeral services, and is often interpreted as pertaining to the soul of someone who has died.  I believe, however, that it is clearly written for us as we wander through this life.  I get great comfort from David’s words.
Psalm 23
The Lord, the Psalmist’s Shepherd.

A Psalm of David.

1 The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.

A shepherd not only leads his sheep, but he also protects them from predators.

2 He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters.

A shepherd guides his sheep to a place where they can be well fed, drink clean water and rest.

3 He restores my soul;

He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

A shepherd leads His flock along safe paths where they will not stumble.

4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I fear no evil, for You are with me;

Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

In the worst of times the Shepherd guidance is a comfort to His flock.

5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;

You have anointed my head with oil; My cup overflows.

The shepherd never provides less than the flock needs to be satisfied.

6 Surely goodness and loving-kindness will follow me all the days of my life,

And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

If the sheep follow the shepherd, they will be safe, nourished, and never thirst.

As a once lost sheep, I can attest to the happiness and fulfillment I feel when I am following the Shepherd closely.  When I wander away, it is then when I feel anxious and confused.  The Shepherd’s calming influence is essential in my life for me to be at ease and peaceful.

If you have not already done so, please give your life to the Good Shepherd.  He gave His life for you.  If you have not already accepted Jesus as your Lord and Savior, but would like to do so, pray this prayer, or one like it.

Lord Jesus, I ask that You forgive me of my sins and save me from eternal separation from God.  I accept Your death on the cross as full payment for my sins.  Thank You for providing a way for me to know You and a way to have a relationship with my heavenly Father.  I know that I have eternal life, because of my faith in You.  Please allow me to always see where You are guiding me and to walk in Your ways. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

