Originally posted November 20, 2014

How many of us would be comfortable getting a surprise visit from someone of importance?  If your boss, your pastor, or the president stopped at your house unexpectedly, would you be prepared? Would you wish you had cleaned the house?  Made the bed, dusted, vacuumed, or cleaned the dirty dishes in the sink?

When we accept Jesus as Lord and Savior, we open our heart to Him. 

Ephesians 3:17-19 … so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God.

What part of my life do I want to keep from God?  What is my cluttered basement?

Do I want to keep Him out of my work life, so I can conduct myself unethically?

Proverbs 19:1 … Better is a poor person who walks in his integrity than one who is crooked in speech and is a fool.

Ephesians 4:28 … Let the thief no longer steal, but rather let him labor, doing honest work with his own hands, so that he may have something to share with anyone in need.

What about my home life? If I keep God out, I can treat my family in a way that might not please Him?

Ephesians 6:4 … Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

Proverbs 22:6 … Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.

Ephesians 5:25 … Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her.

What about my friendships?  Are there people I associate with that I should avoid?

1 Corinthians 15:33 … Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

Proverbs 13:20 … Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm.

Is there some sin that I have not dealt with effectively since I accepted Jesus?

Mark 9:43 … And if your hand causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life crippled than with two hands to go to hell, to the unquenchable fire.

1 Corinthians 6:19 … do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own.

Do we want Jesus to look in those parts of our mind and heart that we are ashamed of? Anger, lust, greed, dishonesty, uncaringness….

When we give our lives to Jesus, we should always be striving to clean things up.  We will never get that perfect “home” and we will always have a “room” that could be kept tidier.  God, however, has a beautiful, perfectly maintained home waiting for us.

John 14:23 … Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our abode with him.

John 14:3 … And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.

