Originally posted April 15, 2015

WORSHIP!!!

Worship is defined as the feeling or expression of reverence and adoration for God.

Are we amazed at all God does and has done?  Are we devoted to Him and live to please Him.  Please Him not to earn reward or salvation (which cannot be earned), but please Him because we love Him.

Psalm 95:6 — Come, let us worship and bow down, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker.

Psalm 132:7 — Let us go into His dwelling place; Let us worship at His footstool.

God’s love for us is so strong, that He became a man, left paradise to walk this earth.  He was persecuted, beaten, and crucified.  All this because He loves us and wanted a relationship with us.

Isaiah 12:5 — Praise the Lord in song, for He has done excellent things; let this be known throughout the earth.

How do we express our worship towards God?

Luke 4:8 — Jesus answered him, “It is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God and serve Him only.’”

We can worship through songs ….

Psalm 59:16 … But I will sing of Your strength; I will sing aloud of Your steadfast love in the morning. For You have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.

Psalm 95:1-2 … Oh come, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!

Psalm 147:1 … Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praises to our God; for it is pleasant, and a song of praise is fitting.

Psalm 150:1-6 … Praise the Lord! Praise God in His sanctuary; praise Him in his mighty heavens! Praise Him for His mighty deeds; praise Him according to His excellent greatness! Praise Him with trumpet sound; praise Him with lute and harp! Praise Him with tambourine and dance; praise Him with strings and pipe! Praise Him with sounding cymbals; praise Him with loud clashing cymbals!

Psalm 13:6 … I will sing to the Lord, because He has dealt bountifully with me.

We can worship God through prayer ….

1 Thessalonians 5:17 … Pray without ceasing,

Philippians 4:6 … Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Our prayer can be public ….

Matthew 18:19-20 … Again I say to you, if two of you agree on earth about anything they ask, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven. For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them.”

2 Corinthians 1:11 … You also must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessing granted us through the prayers of many.

Or, our prayers can be very private ….

1 Corinthians 14:15 … What am I to do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will pray with my mind also;

Matthew 6:6 … But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.

Romans 8:26 … Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.

Dancing is another form of worship.

Psalm 149:3 … Let them praise His name with dancing, making melody to Him with tambourine and lyre!

Ecclesiastes 3:4 … A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

Psalm 30:11 … You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; You have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness,

Worship can also be our witness, expressing the joy that we have because of what Jesus has done for us …

Proverbs 17:22 … A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

Philippians 4:4 … Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.

Psalm 40:8 … I delight to do Your will, O my God; Your law is within my heart.”

But, I believe our greatest display of worship is giving ourselves over to to the Lord in every aspect of our lives.

Romans 12:1 … Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.

God bless you all!!!

