Being a man in the 21st Century

Originally posted September 5, 2014

What does it mean to be a Christian man in the today’s culture? 

In my humble opinion, and based on my understanding of the Bible:

  1. Being responsible for taking care of my wife and children. 
    • Loving them, providing and protecting them, being an example for living a godly life. 

Ephesians 6:4 … Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

2. Being faithful in my marriage, honoring my wife and my commitment (before God) to her. 

Ephesians 5:28-30 … So husbands ought also to love their own wives as their own bodies. He who loves his own wife loves himself; for no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ also does the church, because we are members of His body.

3. Laying my life down for them as Jesus did for His church, both figurative and literally.

Ephesians 5:25 … Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her

If you are single, I believe you should be prepared to find one woman who you will vow to respect, honor and devote yourself to for the rest of your life. 

Ephesians 5:31 … For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and shall be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.

4. Having character, conducting myself at all times as if Jesus is in the room with me.  After all He is beside me at all times. 

Romans 5:4 … And endurance produces character, and character produces hope,

Ephesians 5:10-13 … learn what is pleasing to the Lord. Do not participate in the unfruitful deeds of darkness, but instead even expose them; for it is disgraceful even to speak of the things which are done by them in secret. But all things become visible when they are exposed by the light, for everything that becomes visible is light.

5. Respecting authority.  I may not agree with those in authority, but they have been placed there by God and I will obey.

Romans 13:1-2 … Every person is to be in subjection to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those which exist are established by God. Therefore whoever resists authority has opposed the ordinance of God; and they who have opposed will receive condemnation upon themselves.

6. Having compassion for others and being charitable with all the God has provided to me.

Colossians 3:12 … So, as those who have been chosen of God, holy and beloved, put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience;

7. Work hard for my employer, to diligently to give a full day’s work for a full day’s pay.

Colossians 3:23-24 … Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.

8. Forgiving those who wrong me, and never doing or speaking evil against my fellow man.

Matthew 6:14-15 … For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

James 4:11 … Do not speak against one another, brethren. He who speaks against a brother or judges his brother, speaks against the law and judges the law; but if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law but a judge of it.

9. Seeking God’s will for my life, living for Him and loving Him.

Job 5:8-9 … “As for me, I would seek God, and to God would I commit my cause, who does great things and unsearchable, marvelous things without number:”

Luke 10:27 … And he answered, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your neighbor as yourself.”

In closing, I do not profess to live this way 24/7, but I am praying on this and striving (in Christ’s strength) to do so.This is a daily battle to live for Christ.

Philippians 1:21 … For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.